Powerpoint

the1975

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 5.20.43 PM

For the Music PowerPoint, I chose to create a presentation on the same music group that I created my concert poster for: The 1975. Before creating the presentation I had already decided that I would compliment the band’s “theme,” black-and-white, and I wanted to create a presentation that had an easy flow; I would do this by using the same slide-transition throughout the entire presentation to maintain regularity.

The first slide I created, the cover slide, was simple. This included an image that showed the members as well as the name of the band.

The second slide, in which we were instructed to list 4-5 interesting facts about the band, proved to raise difficulty. We were instructed to dim a bullet point at a time after they entered. I understood this process, using the animation tool, however I disliked how the text would instantly dim, not giving ample time for the viewer to read the information. I overcame this issue by adding a slow moving fade animation to the incoming bullet points. While the bullet points were slowly coming into place, the viewers had enough time to read them before they dimmed.

The third slide’s purpose was to show an album of the artist as well as all the tracks on that specific album. I found this slide to be particularly easy but also pretty boring. After adding an animation to introduce each track into the slide, I added an animation that “shook” the album cover, adding motion and making this slide a little less boring.

The fourth slide included a comparison table. The columns I created included “Band,” “Most Recent Album,” “Country of Origin,” and “Band Members.” The common bands I also included were The Neighbourhood and Bastille. I used graphics whenever possible and also included grouped animations so the table could be read in sections.

The last slide was a collage of images from the band. Because there are four band members, I found single photographs of each of the members and gave them each 1/4 of the slide. Adding fade animations, I replaced each picture with another of the same band member.

As stated before, I wanted to use the same transition between each slide to create regularity. It was not until I had added all of the presentation information until I decided what I would do. Between each slide I added a transition that the next slide would “push” the previous slide up and out of the way. I really liked how this push made the presentation seem it was on a single track. To add to this effect, I added black-to-white- gradients on both sides of each slide. I believe these graphics worked to my advantage and pulled the entire presentation together.

Leave a comment